Beauty Haul (Honest Beauty)

In my most recent purchase, I decided to try a few products from Honest Beauty. It’s pretty much the cosmetics end of the Honest Company; the brand itself was founded by two people: Christoper Gavigan (former CEO of Healthy Child Healthy World, a national nonprofit empowering parents to protect their children from toxic risks, and the face of the brand, Jessica Alba). Honest Beauty is something I’ve wanted to try out for a long time because celebrities have raved about it, and Jessica Alba has done a lot of promoting.

Honest Beauty adheres to the same set of standards as the Honest Company, and that means trying to eliminate potential health impacts such as “carcinogenicity, teratogenicity, allergenicity, neurotoxicity and more.” The FAQ page specifically states that the company’s products are “made without any questionable ingredients, such as parabens, phthalates, formaldehyde carriers, PEGs, MCI/MI, steareth-n, synthetic fragrances, propylene glycol, butylene glycol, petrolatum, mineral oil, SLS, SLES, sulfates and chemical sunscreens.”

In addition, products are not tested on animals.

Purchases & Reviews

1.) Contour + Highlight Kit 

This is probably one of my favorite products of all time, and I’ve tried a lot of bronzers and highlighters. The two contour colors make it really easy to find your color. You have a lighter shade for winter and a darker shade for summer. The highlight is not glittery. One thing that I absolutely hate is glitter in my highlighter. I’m a simple gal. That being said, the reason why this is (now) my favorite product of all time is because the finish is so natural. The product blends in seamlessly and the highlighter makes it look like your skin is glowing from the inside out! Moreover, its a contour and highlight all in one topped off with a nice dainty mirror. Everything you could possibly need in life. (If your skin tone is on the darker side, this product might not be for you because it’s so subtle and it is pretty light.)

honestbeautycontourkit
Retails for $34.00

2.) Magic Balm 

This is a great multi-purpose balm. It’s one of those things where you think you don’t need it, but then you buy it and you’re like, ” I NEED THIS FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE!” It’s good for dry areas, retouching, lip balm, or even adding a bit of a glow. My skin is so incredibly dry, all the time. I use this for dry areas when I’m not wearing makeup and retouching dry spots after makeup. Personally, I wouldn’t use this as a lip balm because a.) it’s pretty expensive and b.) there are so cheaper and more effective alternatives. Overall, if you’re on a budget, this would be a nice-to-have and not a must-have.

owgpugrr
Retails for $18.00

3.) Elevated Hydration Replenishing Mist

pt1u5arr
Retails for $16.00

This is definitely a nice-to-have-actually -probably -don’t-need-it product. It’s nice to have if your skin is on the drier side and you want something to freshen up your makeup after a long day. In other words it’s like a better/safer/cheaper alternative to the MAC Fix Plus Mist. The difference is, you can use it before or after putting on makeup because it doesn’t really affect the other products you put on your face. After a few uses, I realized I hated the spray bottle because there was just such a concentrated amount of liquid being sprayed out. So, I put the product in an empty travel size Make Up For Ever Mist and Fix Bottle and it works great! One last thing, there is a very strong herbal smell. If you aren’t a fan of strong scents, this might not be for you.

4.) Refreshingly Clean Makeup Remover Wipes

For this price, they are really nice makeup remover wipes. I used to use the Neutrogena wipes and it was something I always went back to. However, after discovering the Honest Beauty wipes, I don’t think I’ll ever go back. As I’ve said before, my skin is super dry, and that’s especially true this winter. Sometimes the Neutrogena stings my face, but the Honest Beauty ones are very gentle. That being said, makeup remover wipes are always a luxury item. If you’re on a budget, just use organic extra virgin olive oil (unfiltered, of course).

hyxkoqrr
Retails for $10.00
Leave a Reply

